Kindred

I write neither often enough nor seriously enough to be considered a writer. Or a “real writer.” I’m not even an accomplished reader. And yet, when I read other writers, especially when they describe the way in which they write, or how they write, or why they write, I feel a distinct connection. Like somehow I am part of that community. I’m starting to feel this way amongst doctors; this is both pleasant and expected. But doctoring itself does not often lend itself to personal expression. (Or at least it shouldn’t. There must be some sort of ethics statement by the AMA about this.) Sometimes I feel traces of this around earnest musicians, but when they become excited, again I become an outsider.

I enjoy reading fiction most of all, but I find it incredibly difficult to write. I can’t be bothered to stick to a same character or plot for any length of time. I think it would be good for me to try, but because I can’t sit down and systematically do it (at least, not with the real life schedule that I also must consider), I’ve started collecting things to eventually use in a bigger piece. They’re mostly nonsense things: word combinations that I find amusing, descriptions of objects or events that stick in my head, poignant couplets, or thoughts that deserve further exploration. Yes, I’m writing a novel, haven’t you heard? It’s going to be terrible, and it’s never going to happen.

I went to a bookstore the other day and raided their three dollar shelf. Half the books I bought were ones I’ve already read, but either I didn’t own it or I was getting it as a gift. Potentially. A potential gift. I seem to have a compulsion by which I always buy a copy of Franny and Zooey if I find it. I’m well aware that Mel Gibson’s character in Conspiracy Theory has the same affliction, only it’s with Catcher. The situation isn’t serious enough to cause me financial distress (only because it doesn’t happen on each of my daily visits to Amazon.com), so I don’t think I need to seek help just yet. Plus I eventually end up giving away all (but a couple) of my copies. So I feel the purchases are ultimately justified. I also picked up The House of Sand and Fog. My roommate tells me it’s a fantastic movie, which is intergalactic code for “the book is even better.”

 

~ by jwooch on August 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “Kindred”

  1. Jwooch, do you know about NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)? http://www.nanowrimo.org/ Done in November, it is a month that individual people work on writing their novel. It is fairly structured, like you are supposed to write a certain number of words/day on average and you can track your progress on the website and there are groups in most areas where people get together to write and encourage each other. If you can re-arrange your schedule to get Nov as an elective, you might really want to consider doing it. It’s the sort of thing you won’t be able to do once you’re out of training and it seems to me that self expression is relevant, even key, to being a doctor and a human.

    • looks great! i can’t trade my november away (i’ll be on the wards), but maybe that’ll be just as good a place for inspiration. i think i still may do it.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

